I’m getting ready… for fun!

Recently I had a big spike in the excitement level when I thought I might be moving. It didn’t pan out this time but I feel change is on the horizon. So I find myself in the position of getting ready…. but ready for what? I love this idea… but I’m guessing it’s not for everyone. I imagine it’s like being pregnant but not knowing when you’ll give birth and not knowing if you’ll birth a job, a new business, a travel opportunity but birth is definitely on the horizon. So what do I do?

Some people think I need to figure it out, devise a plan then set my plan in motion. Well… not so much. I can’t figure it out. All I know is that something amazing is coming just down the road. But I can devise a plan and I’m in the process of putting that plan in motion.

How can I plan if I don’t know what’s coming? Well, that’s the interesting part to me. I can figure out changes that are needed in my life, regardless of what is coming. And the expectation of the wonder just down the road is motivating me to get these changes underway.

What changes? Well, lowering my stress level by more meditation and exercise. Healthier eating, more peace… always good priorities. Making these changes in preparation for some new adventure gives me motivation to seriously get on the ball.

Another huge change for me is to lighten the load at home. I’ve got stuff. Do you have stuff? I mean I’ve got serious stuff. Shelves of it, piles of it, closets full of it. Seems the older I get, the less stuff I think I need. So, I’m getting rid of stuff.

How to know what to keep and what to get rid of? Well, that too is easier than I thought it might be. I’m just hanging on to things I’m using or things needed to help me make my dreams come true. So… work equipment, yes. Art supplies, of course. Music gear, definitely. Some tools and household necessities, yeah as I still have a house to take care of. But the stuff that I’ve hung onto because “I might…”, “just in case…”, “it’s good and someone could use it…” — all that stuff is outta here. There are probably people out there who actually could use my stuff. So, I’m putting it back in circulation.

So, I’m so busy getting ready for an amazing, wonderful surprise that’s coming down the road. It might happen sooner and it might happen later. But living in anticipation of joy seems to be the important thing here. And acting as if I need to be ready for great new change is something I’m finding quite energizing.

What amazing thing might be coming down the road for you? Better get ready for the fun!

5 thoughts on “I’m getting ready… for fun!

  1. I love this post! So inspiring! And I can so relate to the difficulty in letting go of things, both physically and emotionally. I’m ready for a new and FUN life! For both of us!

    Like

  2. Yep! Just when get all that stuff saved up, we realize it’s cluttering one’s mind and space… I too have been ever so slowly trying to de-clutter my house, Su, but sometimes I just wanna get a dump trunk and throw everything out the window into it. Then I (or DH) get something new that I/we just can’t live without… And add to the old clutter. I’m proud of you and know wonderful things will always be around your next corner… Because you expect them to be!! Love you!

    Like

    1. Oh Ann, I so understand the desire to fling it all out the window. A huge dumpster in the driveway would be much easier than putting it back in circulation by donating or selling. But our landfills are full enough. Good luck with the de-cluttering. Love U2

      Like

  3. Su, your words hit a chord with me. I’m feeling that restlessness also. I don’t know if it has to do with something amazing coming along, but I strongly sense big changes.

    Getting rid of ‘stuff,’ is like cutting all the lines that anchor you to where you are. I am inspired to do the same. It’s about preparing for setting sail by being sure the boat is seaworthy, and that it isn’t overloaded with inconsequential collections of things.

    Thanks for writing this. You have me thinking again that there is no time like the present to clear the decks.

    Like

Comments are closed.